Deep Purple Announces Its First Album In Three Years, 'Whoosh!'

On Wednesday (February 26), Deep Purple announced its 21st album, Whoosh!, will be arriving June 12, 2020.

This marks the classic rock legends' first album since 2017's InFinite. Singer Ian Gillan confirmed in 2019 that a new studio project was developed but the band hadn't completely confirmed the new record until now.

The new album news may come as a relief to many fans as the band has been contemplating calling it a day since 2017.

The band had previously named a tour The Long Goodbye Tour to give the members an option to finally retire from making music. “A couple of years ago, everyone in the band was unwell, we all had health problems, which have been well documented, and I think somebody – and I can't remember who said it; probably somebody from the office – said, ‘Do you guys wanna call it a day? Because you all have got health problems here,'” Gillan previously explained.

Deep Purple's site revealed additional details about the album: 

Whoosh! follows their worldwide chart-topping albums “inFinite” (2017) and “NOW What?!” (2013). After the suspense and speculations among the fan community created by cryptic messages and interviews by singer Ian Gillan during last December, the band finally confirms the release of their 21st studio album on June 12th, 2020 on earMUSIC. For the third time, Deep Purple join forces with producer Bob Ezrin, who invited the band to Nashville to write and record new songs. Together they created the most versatile album in their collaboration. Deep Purple “stretched out in all directions” without any limitation, letting their creativity go. “Deep Purple is putting the Deep back into Purple” was the half-joking motto in the studio after the first songs made it clear that Ezrin and Purple were on their path to creating an album pushing the boundaries of time, while voicing their resentment about the current situation of the world and addressing all generations.

On top of announcing the album, Deep Purple also released the album's track list.

Whoosh! track list:

1. “Throw My Bones”

2. “Drop The Weapon”

3. “We’re All The Same In The Dark”

4. “Nothing At All”

5. “No Need To Shout”

6. “Step By Step”

7. “What The What”

8. “The Long Way Round”

9. “The Power Of The Moon”

10. “Remission Possible”

11. “Man Alive”

12. “And The Address”

13. “Dancing In My Sleep”

Photo: Getty Images

102.9 The Lake · Charlotte's We Play Anything Station

Listen Now on iHeartRadio

outbrain pixel